Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Americans for the Arts, the leading organization for advancing the arts and arts education in America, announces new advisory council members for each of their four networks: Arts Education, Emerging Leaders, Private Sector, and Public Art. These individuals will advise Americans for the Arts’ staff on developing programs and services that will build a deeper connection to the field and the network membership. 
Potential council members were nominated in mid-September and were voted on by members of Americans for the Arts through November 12, 2015. Incoming advisory council members serve a three-year term, from January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2018. Six members were re-elected. 
“Americans for the Arts strives to cultivate the next generation of arts leaders in America, and I am pleased to welcome 11 new members to our advisory councils,” said Robert L. Lynch, president and CEO of Americans for the Arts. “These leaders are willing to dedicate their time and expertise to work with peers across the country to shape national programs and messages and help craft services for states, communities, and local organizations. I applaud them for their valued contribution and commitment that will undoubtedly improve the state of arts in America.” 
The new advisory council members are:
In the Arts Education Council, who will select the Arts Education Leadership Award recipient, and participate in and support network-specific programs such as Arts in Education Week, Keep the Arts in Public Schools, and more:
  • Margaret Weisbrod Morris, Chief Program Officer, Lawrence Arts Center
  • Daryl Ward, Principal, Harrison School for the Arts
  • Kari Couture, Community Arts Specialist, Milwaukee Public Schools
In the Emerging Leaders Council, who will assist in developing programs and resources to promote professional development and networking opportunities for emerging arts professionals nationwide:
  • Dr. Donnie Matsuda, Steering Committee Secretary and Communications Co-Chair, Rising Arts Leaders
  • Nicholas Dragga, Executive Director, Ballet Lubbock (re-elected)
  • Deidre Thomas, Grants Coordinator, Houston Arts Alliance
  • Rebecca Burrell, The Right Brain Initiative Outreach Specialist, Regional Arts & Culture Council (re-elected)
  • Todd Trebour, Program Coordinator, UMass Amherst Arts Extension Service
  • Katherine (Kit) Kough, Program Director, Center for Humanities in Medicine, Mayo Clinic
In the Private Sector Council, who will develop and implement private-sector advocacy programs and serve as leaders to other local arts agencies seeking to connect with the private sector:
  • Theo Edmonds, Co-Founder, IDEAS xLab
  • Mari Horita, President & CEO, ArtsFund (re-elected)
  • Jennifer Goulet, President & CEO, Creative Many Michigan (re-elected)
In the Public Art Network Council, who will advise on annual programming, choose the Public Art Network award recipient, and offer diverse perspectives and voices on public art and public art programs:
  • James LeFlore, Public Art San Antonio Director, City of San Antonio, Department of Culture and Creative Development (re-elected)
  • Caroline Vincent, Director of Public Art, Metro Nashville Arts Commission
  • Michael Chavez, Public Art Program Manager, Denver Arts & Venues
  • Dana LaFonta, Director of Artists Services and the Percent for Art program, Louisiana Division of the Arts
  • John Haworth, Senior Executive, National Museum of the American Indian – New York (re-elected)
Americans for the Arts is the leading nonprofit organization for advancing the arts and arts education in America. With offices in Washington, D.C. and New York City, it has a record of more than 50 years of service. Americans for the Arts is dedicated to representing and serving local communities and creating opportunities for every American to participate in and appreciate all forms of the arts. Additional information is available at www.AmericansForTheArts.org.